Round Lake Home Town Fest ~ 2013

The Village of Round Lake held their annual Home Town Festival on Saturday, September 21st and were blessed with beautiful weather. There was plenty for those who attended to enjoy, including crafts, kids games, a climbing wall, a rope walk, bingo, pie baking contest, taco eating contest, car & truck show with trophies being awarded, food vendors, and plenty of live entertainment throughout the day.

A great day for the car & truck show
A great day for the car & truck show

I always enjoy viewing the car shows and am amazed at what some owners have done to either restore their rides to original condition or maybe make it jump up and down with lots of special equipment tucked away in the trunk. One car I haven’t seen at any of the shows over the past several years was the one owned and serviced by Michael Kohlmeyer who ended up winning the Mayor’s Trophy with his 1934 Ford Phaeton worth over a hundred grand!!

Danette Kohlmeyer with Mayor Dan MacGillis and his wife.
Danette Kohlmeyer with Mayor Dan MacGillis and his wife.

Two years ago I had the opportunity to sample the winning pie in the pie baking contest so last year I was once again looking forward to another great tasting opportunity but left disappointed since there were no entries. To my great delight, Danette Kohlmeyer once again spent time in her kitchen brewing up another winner this year. If she ever decides to open up a local bakery I will be a steady customer. You can see the three pies that were submitted for this year’s contest which were judged on overall appearance as well as taste and texture. That’s Danette standing on the left with Mayor Daniel MacGillis and his lovely wife,

Thanks to Kevin Wallace I now have a list of all the winners. See if you can spot them in the video below.

1st – Mike Kohlmeyer – 1934 Ford Phaton
2nd – Glenn Timmerman – 2011 Chevy Camaro
3rd – Jerry Hill – 1966 Ford Mustang

1st – Austin Kohlmeyer – 1929 Ford Model A
2nd – Curt Miller – 1997 Ford F-350
3rd – Brenton Lindenberg – 2009 Ford F-250

1st – Johnny Hernandez – 1964 Chevy Impala
2nd – Modesto Diaz – 1974 Lincoln Mark IV
3rd – Ramon Baldarrama – 1987 Mazda Mini Truck

1st – Austin Kohlmeyer – 2008 Harley Nightrain
2nd 0 Greg Sutter – 2004 Harley Deuce

People’s Choice
Jerry Hill – 1966 Ford Mustang

Mayor’s Choice
Mike Kohlmeyer – 1934 Ford Phaton

YouTube Preview Image

Did you like the ABOVE article? Share it:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *